The Humanist Chaplaincy at Harvard: Stephen Fry 2011 LifeTime Achievement Award in Cultural Humanism" Stephen Fry

The Annual Outstanding Lifetime Achievement Award in Cultural Humanism is presented at Harvard University each year by the Harvard Secular Society on behalf of the Humanist Chaplaincy at Harvard and the American Humanist Association. Selected by a committee of 20-30 Harvard students each year, this award is given to a figure greatly admired by our students and community for both artistic and humanitarian reasons.

Now in its fifth year, the HSS Cultural Humanism committee has chosen Stephen Fry, based on what they feel is an outstanding contribution to Humanism in popular culture.

Previous winners of the Cultural Humanism Award are, in 2007, novelist Sir Salman Rushdie, in 2008, punk rock star Greg Graffin (of the band Bad Religion and the UCLA Faculty of Biology), in 2009, writer/ director/producer Joss Whedon ('Buffy,' 'Angel,' 'Firefly,' 'Dollhouse') and in 2010 Adam Savage and Jamie Hyneman, the hosts of The MythBusters.

Steven Fry on Humanism:

No comments:

Post a Comment